Archive for September 15th, 2009

15
Sep
09

what the hell is up

Notice how, by not using a question mark, I made the title of this post a statement rather than a question. I don’t ask questions. I say things, and people either understand me or they don’t. I don’t even care at all. Not the way I was raised.

Anyway let’s go over the amazing shit that is happening at The ‘Hook in the next two weeks. I’m just going to print the schedule and make notes on each event:

Sept. 17th – Thursday @ 10pm
12:00 – Experimental Dental School
11:00 – bellafea
10:00 – Mattress

Experimental Dental School is not just another duo. They are one of the rare duos that sounds like about 80 goddamn people, like VeeLee. Mattress is great. You know who bellafea are. You know that you will not skip this show.

Sept. 18th – Friday @ 10pm
12:00 – HOG
11:00 – Death Came Down the Mountain

Do me a favor. Don’t go see Yo La Tengo on the 18th. I mean, they’re cool, but you can’t buy whiskey at the Carolina Theatre. Instead, come see HOG, the new project from Rich James of Tooth. Rich and Tooth sadly played their swan song, last week, but instead of lying around, they’re making new music. Also, it’s my birthday, so do what I say and come see this show.

Sept. 19th – Saturday @ 10pm
12:00 – The Huguenots
11:00 – The Jaguar Club
10:00 – Sea Cow

Fresh off a show with The Howlies and Violet Vector, the Huguenots are set to tear the roof off the sucka’.

Sept. 24th – Thursday @ 10pm
12:00 – AMINAL
11:00 – Low Red Land
10:00 – The Honored Guests

Oh man, AMINAL is so awesome BUT OH MY GOD THE HONORED GUESTS ARE BACK TOGETHER. WE ARE THE ONES WHO ARE HONORED.

Sept. 25th – Friday @ 10pm
King and Jeff Dance Party! ERACISM: Celebrating the integration of schools on Sept. 25th, 1957 with some serious dance moves!

THIS NEEDS NO EXPLANATION. IT WILL BE A FUCKING BLAST, JUST LIKE ALL JEFF/KING PARTIES. ALL CAPS FROM NOW ON FOR ME.

Sept. 26th – Saturday @ 10pm
12:00 – Blood Red River
11:00 – The Wigg Report
10:00 – Birds and Arrows

SO MUCH ROCK. AND I CAN’T WAIT TO GAZE ON STEPHEN MULLANEY’S BEAUTIFUL FACE. DAN STREIB (EX-RESIST NOT) IS HAVING HIS WEDDING RECEPTION HERE TOO. ISN’T THAT SWEET.

Movie Night update: Documentary month is drawing to a close. Guess what’s happening in October.

ZOMBIES! That’s right, every monday a new Zombie movie. I know Dead Alive is on the schedule Jesus that is a sweet movie.

Ok, my minty mojitos, I am OUT! THIS BLOG POST IS OVER.

Heart,

P>>>H>>>K>>>